Posted by: georgeskaff | February 23, 2010

T-Minus Four

Four days left at work, and I’ll admit I’m a bit scared.

No more steady paycheck or health care, no more easy to follow job description. I hear being scared is a good thing, and as my Dad has advised, “you have to do it with fear”.

I wonder if other entrepreneurs have gone through these same feelings. Is being scared a good thing? Is it natural? I needed some inspiration last night so I grabbed  Seth Godin’s Tribes to help me remember why George and I are doing this.

Our goal is to provide resources and community for entrepreneurs (and would be entrepreneurs) to make the jump. If you decide taking your pants off is the right thing to do, we want to be there to help. Some people may need advice, others such as Liza (@decktOut), could just use a bit  of inspiration.

This blog isn’t for everyone, but if you are here reading this, it probably is for you.

And now some inspiration from Seth…

“I think we have an obligation to change the rules, to raise the bar, to play a different game, and to play it better than anyone has any right to believe is possible.”

“We choose not to be remarkable because we’re worried about criticism. Being remarkable is exciting, fun, profitable, and great for your career. Feeling bad wears off.”

“When you lead without compensation, when you sacrifice without guarentees, when you take risks becuase you believe, then you are demonstrating your faith in the tribe and its mission.”

Right now I feel a little bit like a 12 year old on his first airplane ride. My tray table is up, butterflies in my stomach, and I’m ready for lift off.

-B

@bcroke @pantsoffentrepr

Responses

  1. Fight the resistance! Eleanor Roosevelt once said, “Do one thing every day that scares you.”

  2. Brandon –

    If anyone can do this, its you. Look into it with excitement, knowing that you are doing something you will always remember, regardless of the outcome. Best of luck, and you know we are all rooting you on!

    I love this quote, and thought it applied. Sorry for the length.

    “So many people live within unhappy circumstances and yet will not take the initiative to change their situation because they are conditioned to a life of security, conformity, and conservatism, all of which may appear to give one peace of mind, but in reality nothing is more dangerous to the adventurous spirit within a man than a secure future. The very basic core of a man’s living spirit is his passion for adventure. The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.”
    — Chris McCandless

  3. Brandon! What I have to say is THANK GOODNESS you’re quitting your job. You do not belong in an office or in the corporate world. You guys are doing what many in our generation have the passion and energy, but lack the courage, to do. I’m so excited for you and George.

    I was thinking of Into the Wild, as Jocelyn was. You’ve got to read (or watch, or both!) it before you go.

    Here’s my contribution:

    “It takes more courage to reveal insecurities than to hide them, more strength to relate to people than to dominate them, more ‘manhood’ to abide by thought-out principles rather than blind reflex. Toughness is in the soul and spirit, not in muscles and an immature mind.” -alex karras

  4. Thanks for the support guys, we definitely need it.

    @Jordan, Remember when I read your Tribes summary and I wanted to get up and leave work one day? That’s all you, I wasn’t ready for it 6 months ago, but I’m ready for it now.

    @Jocelyn, Know anybody in Baltimore we could talk to? We’re coming to visit!!

    @Lizzie, I love that quote. You guys are awesome. So great to hear from you Lizzie!

    @Lizzi

  5. I love seeing all this support. Makes me feel a little less crazy!! 🙂

  6. Of course you should be scared; if anyone where in your shoes (or pants) would be lying if they said they weren’t.

    You will be successful. I strongly believe a major reason why is because you’re sacrificing a secure job and chasing after your dream. You’ll work harder than you ever would sitting in an office now. So happy you’re going after what you’re passionate about – and even more happy you’re letting us come along for the ride.

  7. You guys are the best,
    I wish you luck


Leave a Reply

Categories

